Final voter turnout reaches 50.5% in June 9 Cyprus elections | Parikiaki Cyprus and Cypriot News

June 10, 2024 | by

The final voter turnout in the June 9 elections reached 50.5% of the total registered voters, according to Chief Returning Officer Elikkos Elia. As he said, voting concluded smoothly at all polling stations, both in Cyprus and abroad, at 18:00 local time.

Elia reported that 353,149 citizens out of 698,896 registered voters participated in the election. This turnout is higher than the 45% recorded in the 2019 European Parliament elections but lower than the 60.6% in the 2016 local government elections and significantly lower than the 72% in the 2023 presidential elections.

Excluding special polling stations for Turkish Cypriot voters, turnout stands at 58.3%, compared to 50.7% in the 2019 European Parliament elections. Among Turkish Cypriots, 5,676 voters exercised their right to vote out of 103,281 registered in the special electoral roll.

At the 17 overseas polling stations, 2,855 individuals voted out of 4,643 registered voters.

The turnout percentages by region in the 2024 elections are as follows: Nicosia 38.7%, Limassol 67.5%, Famagusta 75.7%, Larnaca 69.5%, Paphos 75.7%, Overseas 61.5%, and Special Polling Stations for Turkish Cypriots 5.5%.

Elia explained that according to the Act on the Election of Members of the European Parliament, “member states cannot officially announce their voting results until after the close of voting in all member states.” As voting in Italy continues until midnight Cyprus time, results for the European elections will start being announced after that time.

For other elections, live results will be available on television and the internet. Ilia noted that the heads of local government organizations, mayors, and possibly community leaders will be known before midnight.

He clarified that the vote count will start with the EP elections, followed by the heads of district organisations, mayors, deputy mayors, and municipal council members. The results for school boards and community council presidents and members will follow.


View all

view all